Need help finding the right tutor?

Why are you seeking tutoring?
Are you a parent or a student?
When do you want to start?
How often would you like to meet with a tutor?
What is your name?
What is your zip code?
What is your email address?
What is your phone number?
Have you received tutoring before?

Thanks! You'll be called typically within 24 hours by the tutor or company you contacted.

Featured By
Peggy tutors in Somerville, MA

Peggy C.

Private tutor in Somerville, MA

4Peggy C.

2 reviews

Education

Harvard Graduate School of Education Master's in Education Policy and Management (2017) Emory College, Emory University BA in Psychology and BBA with a concentration in Information Systems and Operations Management (2013)

Experience

Hi! My name is Peggy and I love teaching. It is the most satisfying way to share my knowledge and education, and there is nothing more enjoyable than watching my students achieve and show improvement over time. I am currently attending Harvard's Graduate School of Education as a Master's degree candidate, and I aspire to work on the issue of racial inequality in education. I prefer to meet students and tutor face-to-face because it's very important to develop trust between the student and teacher. If your student trusts you, then they will listen to your advice and more importantly, open up and ask questions. If the student is intimidated, the learning process will be much slower and less effective. I have the most experience teaching elementary school children (5 years). I adore kids and they find me very personable (perhaps because I'm so short). While I refuse to succumb to a student's common distracting strategies--whining, pleading, bribing--I do try to make the material as engaging and easy to understand as possible. Finally, I enjoy helping students write papers. For college essays, I can help spin past experiences into lively narratives. I would love to help with brainstorming, writing, and editing. But please do not ask me to write your essays for you. The personal essay should be in your voice using your thoughts and experiences. I'm just here to help you capture and present "you" in the best way possible. Feel free to ask for writing samples. I look forward to working with you! Teaching Experience (2014-2016) Peace Corps Volunteer as a University Lecturer in China teaching college sophomores Oral English, 18 hrs/wk, 40-60 students per class (2013-2014) City Year San Jose Corps Member as a private and small-group tutor in 6th grade Math and English Language Arts, 55 hrs/wk, 3-25 students per class (2009-2013) Tutor for Emory READs: 8 hrs/wk tutor Elementary school subjects, one-on-one 10-20 hrs/week of private tutoring in various subjects, one-on-one Project Shine: 4 hrs/week volunteer teaching refugees and recent immigrants English, 1-5 students per class Test scores GRE Verbal: 165/170 Quantitative: 163/170 SAT Math: 740/800 Reading: 740/800 ACT English: 34/36 Mathematics: 35/36 Reading 32/36 AP Calculus BC: 5/5 AP Calculus AB: 5/5 AP Language: 5/5

Availability

Weekends at any time, Weekdays after 4PM

Can Meet

Up to 15 minutes away for no additional charge

Hobbies

Hobbies: Piano, drawing, painting, ceramics, public speaking

Show More

Inquire About This Tutor

Thanks!

Most tutors respond within 48 hours.

Feel free to contact other tutors while you wait.

If this is your first request, please check your email (including your spam folder) to finish setting up your account!