Need help finding the right tutor?

Why are you seeking tutoring?
Are you a parent or a student?
When do you want to start?
How often would you like to meet with a tutor?
What is your name?
What is your zip code?
What is your email address?
What is your phone number?
Have you received tutoring before?

Thanks! You'll be called typically within 24 hours by the tutor or company you contacted.

Featured By
Tony tutors in Somerville, MA

Tony C.

Private tutor in Somerville, MA

Education

Tufts University BA, Classics and History, 3.49 GPA, 2008 Tufts University MAT, 2009

Experience

During college I tutored middle and high school students, particularly those with specific behavioral and learning needs which required more attention. Since then I have received my masters in the art of teaching, completed a year long internship working at an inner city Boston public high school. After graduating with my masters I returned home to substitute teach grades K-12 and assisted/taught in an after school program for grades 4-7. The following year I returned as a full-time teacher teaching World History, Honors US History, Genocide Studies, as well as a course on Law and one on Vermont history. I served as the faculty advisor for student government, and co-advisor for the National Honors Society. I also coached both middle and high school girls soccer. I spent four months in 2012 as an education consultant in China where I helped with college application essays and helped students prepare for the TOEFL examination. In 2013 I spent a year in Greece as a teaching fellow. There I assisted in an English immersion language program for students 7-12. I taught grammar, reading, writing, and speaking. My duties also included SAT tutoring and coaching public speaking at both the middle and high school level. Since the fall of 2013 I have been working at a preparatory high school on the north shore teaching social studies (World History and Economics). I am a faculty moderator for the debate team, freshman soccer coach, and head the photography club.

Availability

Weekdays after 7PM, Weekends in the morning

Can Meet

Up to 45 minutes away at my regular hourly rate, Up to 15 minutes away for no additional charge

Hobbies

I love to be outdoors hiking and taking photos. I travel frequently and have a passion for exploring the world that we live in. I would like to learn guitar, or get back into playing saxophone. Likewise I hope to get back in to soccer outside of coaching, but enjoy playing most sports.

Show More

Inquire About This Tutor

Thanks!

Most tutors respond within 48 hours.

Feel free to contact other tutors while you wait.

If this is your first request, please check your email (including your spam folder) to finish setting up your account!